Florida is one of 17 states with mandatory Personal Injury Protection coverage. Personal Injury Protection, commonly referred to as PIP, is a Florida imposed extension of coverage that pays up to $10,000 of medical expenses or lost wages in the event of an automobile accident, regardless of who is at fault. Additionally, PIP coverage does not just benefit the insured driver, but also benefits members of their household, other drivers with permission to drive the insured vehicle, passengers who lack their own PIP coverage who do not own a vehicle or pedestrians when injured by an insured vehicle.
Fault or No Fault, there are still things that you need to do to ensure that you receive Personal Injury Protection benefits. When an accident occurs, be sure to call the police to the scene. The police will create an accident report and insurance exchange that will document the people involved in the accident, damage to the vehicle and injuries sustained. Following the accident, you must seek initial medical treatment within 14 days of the accident to be entitled to PIP benefits. If you do not seek treatment within 14 days of the accident, PIP will not cover your medical bills. Also, it is not only important that you seek treatment but where you seek treatment, who renders treatment, and your medical diagnosis.
The initial treatment must be provided, supervised or ordered by a licensed medical doctor, chiropractor, dentist, hospital or person with the required license to provide emergency transportation and treatment. During your initial visit, make sure you inform your doctor about all the injuries and pain complaints you have. If all your injuries are not documented on the first initial visit they might not be covered at the follow up visit. A physical therapist is allowed to provide treatment in later visits if further medical assistance is recommended by the person who rendered the initial treatment.
The diagnosis provided at the time medical services are rendered is also used by the insurance company to determine the amount of PIP benefits you are entitled to. Recent Florida laws have limited the amount of PIP benefits that can be reimbursed depending on the severity of your injuries. If a licensed medical provider determined that you have suffered an Emergency Medical Condition, you may be entitled to receive up to the maximum amount of your Personal Injury Protection benefits. However, if you are not diagnosed with an Emergency Medical Condition, benefits may be limited to $2,500 of your adjusted medical bills.
These are only a few of the many important factors you should know about at the time of an accident or injury. For more information on how to protect your rights, contact Priscilla Mella at Pacin Levine P.A. at (888) 450-4909.