If you’re the victim of a hit and run accident in Florida, chances are pretty good that you want to know what your options are for monetary recovery. Whether you need to recover compensation for medical bills or car repair costs, hit and run accidents are notoriously difficult to work through.
But you do have options.
Here are four ways to recover compensation from a hit and run accident in Florida
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
The first option for recovery is your personal injury protection insurance coverage. Because Florida is a no-fault state (though lawmakers recently tried to change that earlier this year), you are required by law to carry a minimum of $10,000 in PIP coverage for medical bills and lost wages.
Unfortunately for many drivers involved in a hit and run accident in Florida, $10,000 is not nearly enough to cover all the medical expenses and lost wages that they incur. PIP also does not cover the repair costs to your vehicle. There is also this stipulation: you must see a doctor within 14 days of your accident to recover for medical expenses.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Your insurance will treat a hit and run accident like an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver because, unless the police find the other driver, there is no other insurance to recover from.
Not all drivers have UM/UIM insurance coverage because it is optional in Florida, but if you do, then you will be covered for at least $25,000—or the same amount as your bodily injury coverage.
If neither of the above options is enough to recover from your hit and run accident in Florida, you may be able to use your health insurance. It’s important to read your health insurance policy carefully because some specifically exclude injuries resulting from car accidents.
The Other Driver
Many hit and run accidents in Florida go unsolved by law enforcement, but if the police are able to find the driver who hit you, then you can get recovery from the at-fault driver.
This route gives you two options: filing a claim against the driver’s insurance and filing a lawsuit against the other driver. There is still the problem of proving that the other driver was at fault, but fleeing the scene of an accident does not look good and will work in your favor.
Get compensation for your hit and run accident in Florida
The process of recovery from a hit and run accident can be complicated, so it’s best to consult with an attorney before pursuing your options. Whether you’re trying to get your insurance to pay or you want to pursue the other driver after police have found them, a lawyer can help you navigate the process.
Are you the victim of a hit and run accident in Florida? Talk to us today. We are experts in auto accidents, personal injury, PIP, and insurance disputes. Contact us or chat with us online by clicking the icon in the lower right corner of your screen. We are standing by to help.
Are you ready to pursue your case? Contact us today and set up an appointment to speak to an attorney. Call us at 1-800-24-7-CRASH or write to us at firstname.lastname@example.org.