How Long Do I Have to File a Trucking Accident Lawsuit?

Home » How Long Do I Have to File a Trucking Accident Lawsuit?

Cars driving before trucking accident lawsuit

How Long Do I Have to File a Trucking Accident Lawsuit?

by | May 15, 2020 | Accidents, Auto Accidents, Insurance, Personal Injury

Dealing with any car accident can be traumatic, but when you are involved in an accident with a semi-truck, the results can be catastrophic. In some cases, you may need to file a trucking accident lawsuit to recover economic and non-economic damages.

But how long do you have to file a lawsuit? As auto accident attorneys, we think it is important for our clients and potential clients to be informed about the facts. There are specific rules and procedures that people need to follow when they file a claim against their insurance or file a lawsuit against another party. Before we answer the question above, let’s take a look at some critical things to know.

Florida Truck Accidents on the Rise

Florida is a popular destination, not only for snowbirds and tourists but for new residents as well. The total population could increase by almost 30% to 26 million people by 2030, with Miami-Dade alone seeing growth of over half a million. Sure, that means a lot more cars on the road, but it also means more semi-trucks, too. More people means more demand for goods like groceries, and those goods aren’t going to deliver themselves.

The numbers for accidents involving a heavy truck in Florida are kind of staggering—between 2013 and 2018, we have seen an increase of about 10,000 accidents. While not all of these accidents led to injuries, many of them did. And because trucks are so much bigger than other vehicles, the injuries are often severe.

What to Know about PIP

In Florida, personal injury protection (PIP) covers medical costs and lost wages following an accident. The law requires drivers to carry at least $10,000 in PIP coverage. Before you ask how long you have to file a trucking accident lawsuit, you should know how long you have to file a PIP claim. Hint—it’s not as long as you have for the lawsuit.

If you want to take advantage of your PIP benefits, you need to see a doctor within 14 days of your injury. Additionally, the doctor must diagnose you with an emergency medical condition, or else you can only use up to $2,500 of your benefits.

Are you starting to see why a lawsuit is so important?

How Long Is the Window to File a Trucking Accident Lawsuit?

So, how long do you actually have to file a lawsuit for your accident? In Florida, the statute of limitations for all motor vehicle accidents is four years from the date of the accident. While four years might seem like a long time, you never really know how long it will take to discover the full extent of your injuries. And if we’re thinking in economic terms, that means you don’t know how much recovery is going to cost.

If you’ve been in an accident with a semi-truck, talk to us today so we can discuss your path forward.

Are you ready to pursue your case? Contact us today and set up an appointment to speak to an attorney. Call us at 1-800-24-7-CRASH or write to us at info@pl-law.com.

Related Posts