Workers’ Compensation

Home » Personal Injury » Workers’ Compensation

Don’t be a Crash Dummy, call Pacin Levine, P.A.

1-800-24-7-CRASH (2727)

Find a Workers’ Compensation Attorney to Fight for Your Rights Today

No matter the industry you work in, injuries can happen to anyone, at any time. When you suffer from an injury at work, Florida law requires most employers to provide workers’ compensation benefits. Remember that workers’ compensation in Florida moves far beyond just money. In addition to lost wages, you might also be entitled to medical and disability benefits.

Your employer is obligated to compensate you for injuries that occurred on the clock. Like it or not, employers and insurance companies may try to challenge your claim. They may try to show that your injury happened outside of the workplace or before the day of the recorded incident.

That’s why it’s important to have a workers’ compensation attorney on your side so you receive the workers compensation benefits you rightfully deserve.

What you receive ultimately depends on how effectively your lawyer can fight for you. Pacin Levine, P.A.’s attorneys will litigate on your behalf to hold employers—and their insurance company—accountable for your pain and suffering. Schedule a free case evaluation with us today at 1-800-24-7-CRASH (2727).

Do I Have A Case?

Florida’s No-Fault System

In Florida, we employ a no-fault workers’ compensation system. That means you are entitled to damages when you are injured on the job, regardless of who is at fault. However, if you knowingly went against a known safety rule, or if you showed up to the job site under the influence of drugs or alcohol, then it’s possible for your employer or insurance company to deny all of your benefits.

What Sort of Injuries/Illness Does Workers’ Compensation Cover?

So long as the injury or illness happened at work or directly because of your work, there are no limitations. The most common claims come from the following situations:

  • Slip and falls
  • Machinery accidents
  • Equipment malfunctions
  • Being struck or injured by an object
  • Motor vehicle accidents
  • Forklift accidents
  • Burns or scalding
  • Falling from an elevated platform or ladder
  • Airborne chemicals
You Have a Limited Time to Notify Your Boss

If you are injured on the job, you have no more than 30 days to notify your employer that you have been hurt on the job or gotten sick because of your workplace duties. When you fail to notify your employer within that 30-day window, you may be ineligible to receive workers’ compensation benefits. At the very least, failure to inform your employer within 30 days will delay the processing, and retrieval, of benefits.

Take Action Immediately

If you are injured on the job, take action immediately. With that in mind, here is a quick list of steps that you should follow, in order:

  1. Notify your employer.
  2. Seek immediate medical attention and treatment.
  3. Contact a workers’ compensation lawyer near you. The attorneys at Pacin Levine, P.A. are waiting for your call at 1-800-24-7-CRASH (2727).
  4. Submit your Workers’ Compensation claim.

Can My Boss Fire Me for Making a Workers’ Compensation Claim?

It’s illegal for your employer to fire or retaliate against you for filing a workers’ compensation claim. Retaliation includes:
● Firing or demoting you
● Reducing your hours
● Assigning you undesirable shifts
● Cutting down on your job duties
● Purposely giving false performance reviews that negatively affects your position

If your employer fires you or retaliates against you for filing a claim, then you may be able to file a separate, individual employment lawsuit against your employer.

We Are Available 24/7 — Call Us Today

If you or a loved one are injured on the job, call a workers’ compensation lawyer near you. At Pacin Levine, P.A., we offer consultations in Miami-Dade, Broward, Orlando, Jacksonville, Tampa, Fort Myers, Gainesville, Tallahassee, throughout the State of Florida, and virtually.

Our team will work on your behalf to secure the benefits you and your family depend on. Do not allow your employer or insurance company to strong-arm you. Stand up and take action. Schedule a free case evaluation with us today at 1-800-24-7-CRASH (2727).